FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Teacher anxiety

KG07
Community Member

Hello,

I am a teacher and before every lesson, I have anxiety about the class. Anxiety about not being able to control the students, anxiety that I won't know everything that they ask of me, anxiety that I won't be liked and/or respected. And what is so frustrating is that I feel like I am two different people. My rational side can have an answer for all of those fears and worries I have and yet, I still come back to having those same anxieties. I'm also really hard on myself and if I think I've 'lost' my students. I beat myself up about it for the next couple of hours. I really love teaching but also hate it because of the anxiety. I feel like I am the only teacher who feels this way and it is so isolating - every other teacher looks so confident and like they don't care. There are probably some teachers who would think the same as me as I act confident. I'm just wondering if I am the only one.

7 Replies 7

Conky
Community Member
Hello! I am in my 11th year of teaching. You are NOT alone. I have worked in numerous roles in several schools. What you are talking about is common, though I know that doesn't make it easier. As a fellow teacher I am grateful that you have chosen this profession as you are trying to make a deeper positive change in the world. 💐💗

Conky
Community Member
Teaching is the monster we embrace and run away from all at the same time!

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome

Definitely you are not alone.

My daughter had anxiety so bad she no longer teaches. Having been her "rock" for several years I've seen the result of stress in your profession.

According to her at the time some of the issues were

• Doing work for other teachers
  • Dealing with parents
  • Taking work home
  • Other