FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Scared to stop going to therapy

Susanna4568
Community Member

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting so I'm sorry if my post is not following any forum rules or etiquette.

I started seeing a psychologist last year after dealing with anxiety, OCD, intrusive thoughts and procrastination. I had so many physical symptoms of anxiety, couldn't be home alone or by myself at all, and felt like I didn't know myself anymore. I was basically overanalysing and worrying about anything and everything. I was overthinking my entire life which was causing me to deal with so many different OCD themes and I experienced graphic, detailed intrusive thoughts.

Fast forward 6 months and my psychologist said that if I feel comfortable, I don't really need to come back to see them anymore. I am definitely doing much better; I have a good understanding of my mental health and how my brain reacts to triggers and certain situations. I can be home alone and no longer feel like I am about to "lose my mind".

Despite my improvement, I feel really scared to stop going to therapy. I constantly feel as though I am about to tip over the edge and lose myself again. I worry that if I do go back, my psychologist will think I am overreacting and am wasting their time when they could be seeing other patients who are struggling much more than I am.

I guess I would appreciate some advice on what I should do. Do I have to be completely better to stop going to therapy? If I start to feel terrible again, am I allowed to go back and see my psychologist even if they have already given me all the tools I need to cope?

11 Replies 11

Matchy69
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member
Hi Susanna I want welcome you to the forums and making your first post.