FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Purely obsessive ocd

Tom89m
Community Member
Hey guys I'm new here and would really appreciate some input from people with ocd mainly obsessional ocd. Basically I smoked some cannabis 8 weeks ago and had a really bad reaction to it and since then iv had a lot of ocd symptoms I got thoughts of harming people which at first scared the crap out off but since googling that anxiety can cause it I'm more ok with it what really sent me over the edge was reading up that I could have ocd and it's literally all I think about every waking second that this could ruin my life I'm a med student and  prone to worry I'm abit of a hypochondriac but I just envision this taking my life from me that il send up depressed loose my girlfriend and have no job it's really gotten me down. Anyway my reason for posting is because I suffer from health anxiety pretty bad and after visitng the psychiatrist today she's convinced thats what I have. I'd really appreciate some insight into just what pure o is like I'm just trying to figure if this is all just in my head I hear that pure o ocd is hard to diagnose and im worried she could be missing it 
8 Replies 8

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Tom,  welcome

So, you are a med student with anxiety...yet you took cannabis ? Doesnt seem logical to me. This might seem harsh but we want to help others but they have to also help themselves.  Stopping that kind of habit would be a good start.

Did you tell your psych you took cannabis? Because if you didnt he/she could be wasting their time.

Hope you get some answers with your OCD questions.

Tony

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni