FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

OCD: My Story

OCDgirl88
Community Member

Hi I'm Steph,

I have battled OCD for as long as I can remember and as a budding writer I recently had the urge to share my experience with OCD on my blog. My main reason is to help my friends and family grasp what I go through daily (as I often get told to stop my rituals like it is that easy, or yelled at for following my compulsions; even though most of them have their own mental health conditions with mental illness embedded in our genetics, they don't have OCD however. Although I haven't had the guts to share the link with them either personally or on Facebook yet, despite publishing it a few weeks ago, I'm still building up to it.

Another reason is I have always felt alone, and on bad days I often search the internet for personal OCD stories to feel a little less alone, but there's not too many that are searchable and I hope that by sharing my story I can give someone a little bit of hope as I've reached the stage where I see that 'things do get better' and to help others like myself feel a little less alone.

Finally, I'd like to start spreading more awareness about OCD. Something I hope to do more publicly in the future (if I am fortunate to be a successful writer)

Thanks,

Steph

6 Replies 6

Zeal
Community Member

Hi Steph,

I understand what living with OCD is like. I was diagnosed with OCD at age 13, but I think I may have had symptoms at least a few years earlier. I am now 22, and still live with OCD. However, it has been more manageable for about the last year and a half. My anxiety triggers are germs, illness, and vomit. I have been taking a dose of an SSRI for the last several years, which does help me. My body doesn’t produce enough serotonin, so this, along with my OCD, is why I take an antidepressant.