FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Not sure at all

tara
Community Member
Hi all, this is my first time into such a forum. I've suffered anxiety and depression for most of my life. It seems to come and go and changes the way it hits me each time. It's got me to a point where I don't know what's going on anymore. Right now I feel I couldn't get any lower. I feel very much alone in my despair. I feel so frightened of myself and my thoughts and can't deal with anything right now. I'm taking medication and it doesn't seem to be helping at all. I can't stand this place I'm in, I stay home because I don't want to see anyone. Although I do walk everyday, sometimes 4 times a day just to keep negative thoughts at bay, though today I can't even do that! I am going back to my GP to see what can be done. I can't even pinpoint reasons for this, it's like those close to me want to know a cause and I am at a loss, instead I feel like I am pushing everyone away or just don't say anything because it's easier to lie but then the uncontrollable sadness makes lying impossible. I'm lost and don't know who I am anymore... how can anyone understand if I don't??
3 Replies 3

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

dear Tara, it's a natural question people always ask you, 'why are you depressed, you have everything you need', but how the hell do we know, if we did know why, then the problem could be resolved straight away.

People get annoyed with us which only accentuates our depression, so we go deeper and deeper into the black hole.

When you see your doctor ask them for a referral to see a psychologist, where you can have 10 free visits, which most times is never enough, but it's a start.