FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Has medication helped you with severe anxiety inducing phobia?

Mumma_of_two
Community Member
Hello,

I'm just wondering if there is anyone out there who has found medication effective for helping with a phobia? I suffer with a severe phobia of a specific illness (I'm sorry, I can't write the name) but this phobia rules my life and stops me from functioning like a regular human. I'm suffering immensely, but there's also a follow-on effect for my husband and my children. Plus I’m a full time uni student and my assignments are suffering because of it as well.
I'm just so completely overwhelmed by it and to be honest I'm so drained by it that all I want to do is cry. It consumes my every waking thought, and it often infiltrates my nightmares.
I’m sorry for rambling, I just want to know if anyone had any experience with this sort of thing? And if you’ve tried medication, does it stop the constant thoughts?
I just want the constant thoughts of my phobia to stop, I just want to think about normal every day things. I’m falling apart at the seams and it's getting harder and harder to be the mum and wife that I so desperately want to be again.

Sorry for writing such a big post
8 Replies 8

TheWookie
Community Member

Cool post! I do know that there are meds that can reduce anxiety yeah. And I have previously been given something which made me cool as a cucumber for a while. The problem being that the meds can wear off, and the thoughts are still there. And they can be even worse just because you managed to have a break from them for a while. So the danger of the meds is that you would have to stay medicated to avoid the thoughts. 

I would be more likely to recommend looking into therapy based solutions like cat or dbt.

Guest_1643
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

hi mof2