FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Depersonalization and existential anxiety

emem0
Community Member

hi, I’ve been struggling with dpdr, anxiety and as a result of that depression for about 3 months after a bad trip. I honestly see no way out. I’ve gotten checked everything checked physically and go to a phycologist 1-2 times a week now. It’s extremely hard for me to live life and get out of bed. my attendance at school has dropped from almost 100% to like 30-40%. I used to be a straight A student now I’m failing almost every subject. I used to be the happiest most energetic girl ever, always going out with friends. now I can’t even get out of bed.
it’s the most horrible feeling in the world. I’m missing out on the best years of my life. I’m loosing all my friends. sometimes I feel like I’m dead and everything is in my head. my family and my friends feel like fakes, I feel no connection with anyone. when I speak to people it’s like I can’t understand or process anything they are saying. like my brain is shutting down. it feels like this can’t be my real life. this must be a dream or a coma. I think I’m going insane. I get constant panic attacks. everyone is telling me it’s just anxiety, but what if this is all in my head and I’m telling them to tell me that it’s okay? that sounds crazy right? I feel like I’m psychotic or schizophrenic. I get horrible nightmares and sometimes I even hallucinate when I wake up or when I’m about to fall asleep.