FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

aversion to sudden noises

David35
Community Member

I've developed an aversion to sudden noises lately. My gut feeling is that it is some emotional memory associated with glass smashing and arguments that I've had with mum over the years. Every time I hear glass knocking on granite or glass or crockery, I cringe. It usually sets of a panic attack. As embarrassing as it is to admit, has anyone else had this problem? If so, how have they dealt with it?

6 Replies 6

Mark Z.
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi David,

I’m sorry to hear that you’re experiencing this. I'm not a professional or have similar experience, but I did some google research for you.

It sounds like you might be experiencing a condition called Misophonia (it might be wrong as I'm not a professional). Misophonia is a disorder that causes extreme negative reactions to certain noises. People with misophonia react in an extreme and often emotional way to certain trigger sounds. Here's an article for you to learn more: Misophonia: What it is, symptoms, and triggers (medicalnewstoday.com)

It’s important to note that there are some overlaps between hyperacusis and phonophobia, which is an aversion to certain sounds. If you have phonophobia, you are likely to experience discomfort in response to sounds, and the noises may trigger headaches, migraines, or a sense of pain.

There are some tips to manage misophonia, for example, listening to music, calming sounds, or white noise. You can also politely ask the person making the sound to stop. But if you think your life has been severely affected, I would suggest you to consult with your doctor.

Hope if helps a bit.

Mark

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello David, I'm sorry you feel this way, but I also have had this awful feeling only because I have OCD.