FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety surrounding work and relationships

Last_weeks_hero
Community Member

Hi,

I've had issues with anxiety and depression for as long as I can remember. A couple of years ago things got pretty bad and I sought help from my GP and ended up on medication and seeing a psychologist. Eventually I felt stable enough to come off the medication and went on functioning reasonably well. But in the past 12 months things have gotten progressively worse and I feel very much like I'm on the edge of a serious breakdown.

There area two main sources of anxiety in my life, they stem pretty clearly from a complete lack of self-worth:

Firstly, I am working in my first full time job. I did an undergraduate degree in marine biology and was unable to find work, so I made the decision to complete a masters in environmental engineering which I was never passionate about. I'm now working for an environmental consultancy and am completely uninspired by the work and the people. I feel completely defeated that I've spent all this time studying to end up somewhere that makes me miserable. I spend every day at my computer by myself stuck in my own head. The worst part is I have no idea what other options I have. I don't have a clue what I'd rather be doing and I can't help but think I'd feel the same in any job.