FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

School stress

chpouy
Community Member

Hi I am a year 10 student currently attending high school, recently i’ve been feeling extremely overwhelmed with the amount of work that i have to do. ATAR has been introduced to year 10s meaning I have to study hard for the subjects I want that will contribute to my ATAR score in the future. I feel like I’m very far behind and I don’t know what to do. I’ve asked for help numerous of times but I’m left unmotivated. Taking days off just for my mental health feels like a big risk of missing out on important information for my subjects. This has been continually building up as I keep on struggling with studying all my subjects at once. I’ve been crying each night about this to the point where I have thoughts of self harming to punish myself. I’m only 15, thinking about what my future holds for me and the expectations from school and my mum have me so under pressure about it. I just wish that my mum didn’t have to push me so hard, I know she means good intentions but she really doesn’t show it well. What I mean by that is that she thinks that I can do this without any mental health consequences being pressured on me. I’ve been working my absolute ass off just to please her expectations of school but it’s almost never good for her. I’m lacking that emotional support from her and it’s affecting me so much, I dread talking about anything to her. This stress that I feel has been draining me a lot, I struggle with getting up in the morning. I hate this feeling, the only days I feel remotely relaxed is on the weekend, but after that I know that I have to go to school the next day. This feels like a big loop I can’t overcome. School makes me stressed, stress makes me drained, being drained makes me not want to go school and not going school makes school