FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

lonely hours who tf is up!

bluetime00
Community Member

Hi,

I'm not used to reaching out to others (which is honestly probably part of my problem), but please bare with me as I'm very new to this whole concept. I'm 20 years old and have been suffering from perpetual and intense loneliness for the past 12 months. I have always been quite a sociable person, but suffer from social anxiety and fear that people think I'm boring or not worth their time. After finishing high school I spent a year traveling with some of my closest friends and gained confidence through hanging out with people who were older than me. As time went on a lot of those friendships fell apart and I began to feel very disillusioned and anxious in regards to my social life and place in friendships. Regardless of that fact I continued to go out and remain very close friends with one friend in particular. We did everything together and had since high school. Things then begun to change when she got a boyfriend (I'm aware of how cliche this experience of loneliness is trust me ahah). Nonetheless my friend and I begun hanging out less and I found myself spending the majority of my time alone. I used to be fine spending time by myself but now I find it incredibly isolating and don't know how to overcome this feeling. I also feel desperate constantly asking to hang out with my close friend as she now lives with her boyfriend and he comes to everything we do together. I don't want to come across as spiteful, because I see how happy my friend is in her relationship and I obviously like to know she has someone who cares about her. I feel like I'm surrounded by people in relationships and people who have an abundance of friends which only further perpetuates my feeling of loneliness. Honestly don't know what I'm expecting t