FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I'm 26. Need help to start over with life. also im having anxiety issues now maybe.

steamboyjerry
Community Member

Hello everyone, its my first time posting. I hope this is a good place to just get all of my thoughts out of my chest. Im hoping im not the only one with this problem.

I am 25 years old. I graduated with a degree in Uni. its been 2 years now since i got it and i didnt do anything with it. I honestly didnt think about applying for jobs since i graduated i just was so unmovtivated. I preferred to waste a whole year just doing what i wanted to do e.g. exercise, eat better, play music, play video games. With a dead-end job to help keep me sort of afloat financially, at that time i did feel a sense of happiness and contentment. I couldnt do most of that while I was busy studying so i figured why not.

Looking back at it now, I think i pursued a degree only from pressure from family. During uni i just studied (barely), didnt make friends, didnt make professional connections, or use any university resources to work on skills to get the job i wanted. Nothing of it drove me to do anything useful for me. I kind of attempted to work on it currently but i think its too late to work on any of it now. i am almost certain that I cant get any job using my degree because i didnt work on ANY skill that will make me employable. I made a dead end for myself bigtime. I just feel so stupid that I pretty much wasted 5 years of my life.

So now, im thinking of starting over. I think im just realizing now that i wasnt motivated to work on any of it because its not really what i want to do in life. Is there a resoure that i could use to Maybe TAFE/VET is the best way to go? I dont feel motivated to do another 4 years of writing academic papers again.