FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New to Meds

Lisa_difalco123
Community Member

Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I’ve suffered from anxiety my whole life and have generally managed to keep it at bay until recently. The last few months it has been getting worse and after discussing symptoms with my GP started medication 5 days ago. Since then my anxiety has been awful, I’ve suffered intense nausea and panic attacks. Never had a panic attack before so when I woke in the middle of the night with one, it was very scary. It feels like a crushing hot weight on my chest and I’m struggling to get any sleep. Is it normal to feel even more anxious than ever? Did anyone else feel this way in the first few days of taking meds? Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

4 Replies 4

mmMekitty
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello Lisa.difalco, & welcome to the forums.

I wonder how much did your GP explain about what you might expect in the first few weeks of taking these meds? I think, if you can get in to see the GP very soon, you need to have a longer talk about these meds & what you have experienced.

If you feel what you are experiencing is too much for you to deal with, it it scares you too much, you might be better off calling an ambulance & going to hospital to get yourself checked out, to be sure you are okay.

I'm not sure what else I could say about this, because people's experiences with meds can be so varied, add to that other meds, other conditions, age, etc.. I could not advise even if I was a Dr, not without actually seeing you, not without an examination... so I am sorry I can't help more.

All my best,

mmMekitty

Petal22
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Lisa.difalco123,

Wellcome to our forums.

Im sorry you are feeling this way I understand it’s difficult.