FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New, seeking advice in hard times

miususoop
Community Member

Hi everyone. You can call me Miu or Miusu.

For context, I am a second-year university student studying Secondary Education/Arts (English Major/Creative Writing Minor), I come from a relatively upper-middle-class family and haven't ever seriously worried about fulfilling basic needs like food and shelter of my own accord until I was 'forcibly coerced' out of my home just last month.

My mother and birth father are divorced and have no contact; currently she has a partner and I have a younger brother in high school. I've lived through some nasty domestic disputes, been abused as a child and generally feel like I didn't have a childhood. You can see where this is going.
M
y mother, her partner, and I have had heated arguments over my choices in how I live my life. I just want to be able to take things at my own pace and commit to studying full-time, but ever since graduation I have been pushed to take on part-time employment in order to learn how to 'assimilate into society'. My mother is unwavering on her stance about this; by her logic, it seems that I have to be constantly productive and have the work-life balance of a fully qualified adult graduate, otherwise I'm lazy, falling behind other more responsible people of my age and will crash and burn as soon as I graduate university. I was told that I was wrong for not getting a job when I promised to, but I felt like I had no choice but to agree, otherwise I feared that I would get kicked out from the tone of our arguments. I was later threatened with this verbatim, but with uni getting busier, I felt too mentally exhausted to find a new job after quitting my last one. I ended up not revealing that I quit, since I felt that it wouldn't be accepted as an 'excuse'.