FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New and Confused (Non-binary parent)

River_Marizold
Community Member

This is my first time posting, so please be gentle. I'm actually on here as my husband thought it might help me to know others who feel how I do.

I'm River (not legal name). I'm a 29-year-old Non-binary parent. I was born a girl, so I have always presented as a girl, but not felt quite like one entirely.

I'm on here because I have always struggled with identity, but could never put it into words. Yesterday: I did. For the first time I could vocalise my feelings of not being a woman, but not quite a man either. I accepted that I was Non-binary. I don't wish to lose my identity that I've made as a woman, but I am very much a "masculine" person on the inside.

My biggest issue is parenthood. I want to know if there are others who feel as I do, and how you cope. I hated my body during pregnancy. It felt "wrong" to be pregnant. But, I was over the moon to know I was going to be a parent. Breastfeeding was a struggle, but my daughter stopped latching after 6 months, to my relief. I now feel like I'm a great parent, but that I might be letting her down because I'm not a good "mother". So, I have fears that she will become distant. I don't want that at all.

How do you (if you are out there) cope with feeling like you aren't enough as a parent while struggling to adjust to your own identity?

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope there might be someone I can talk to.

2 Replies 2

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi River, welcome

I'm here usually daily so you can reply anytime.