FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hi

Trans22
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I had been existing for almost 52 years in a world filled with confusion, which turned into severe depression (self diagnosed) around the onset of puberty.  I was/am confident of my diagnosis because I cannot remember too many days where I didn't wish for my existence to end, but  I was never brave or selfish enough to do anything more than self harm.  I only ever sought help once and was prescribed anti-depressants which didn't help much because they were treating a symptom rather than the root cause.

In mid-late 2021, work placed me on a series of coaching sessions with a psychologist.  My psychologist identified the root cause to my problems and my life started to turn around.  However, the root cause placed me in a group of people with really bad mental health related statistics - depression (>70%), anxiety (~65%), self-harm(~80%), & worse (~50%) above average.   I'm sure that most of you have now guessed that I am transgender - its embarrassing for me to admit that the word transgender didn't exist in my vocabulary until Sep-2021.