FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hard to breath anxiety

Marty89
Community Member
Hi everyone I'm new to this and not sure where to start but here it goes. I'm a 30 year old man that has been suffering anxiety (mostly by myself without telling anyone) for honestly my entire adulthood. I have had all types of symptoms over the years such as feeling uneasy and on edge to full blown panic attacks, disassociation etc.. I can manage most of them but my worst is when I struggle to breath.. well feel like I constantly need to take a deep breath and always concentrate on my breathing it's so debilitating, I had it pretty bad around 6 or 7 years ago and took myself to ED thinking I was dying, which they found nothing wrong after several tests and sent me home. The last week or so I'm having the same breathless feeling/ conscious of every breath and it's really upsetting me. I work in a hospital and always find time to put a sats prob on my finger to see if my oxygen is ok it's ridiculous. Is anyone else suffering/has suffered with this horrible feeling and is there anything you have done that has helped you through it? Thank you!
9 Replies 9

The_Sports_Guy
Community Member

Hey Marty, well done on posting mate.

I'm a 27 yr old guy who a few months back experienced short of breath and moments of panic, even though the reason for panicing were illogical. I called my partner while she was at work and calmed me down. Her support was awesome. I felt this was a better experience, rather than trying to deal with this on my own. You're not alone in feeling like this bud.

Thanks mate I appreciate the reply. It's good to know that I'm not alone.