FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Finding the courage to speak out

Blue_Dog
Community Member

My name is Kat and it is my first time to this forum.

I am not good at talking face to face about my disorder to anyone as it is too overwhelming to be summed up in a few words, not to mention impossible to explain to someone when you don't fully understand it yourself.

I have suffered depression/anxiety for many years, but have just lately started on a real downward spiral and feeling at a total loss, so while introducing myself to the members here,  I would also like to thank you all for being brave enough to speak out as you have so people like me can read here, feel a little less alone.

I will hopefully find the courage (and the words) to contribute to this forum soon, but until I do, just reading has been a big help, so thank you.

2 Replies 2

Grunt
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Kat,

welcome to the group! I remember not all that long ago being in the exact same position as you feel yourself in now and you're right, there is no easy way of putting it into just a few words so that you can try and seek the assistance you need. I believe you have made the most important step and that being the first one, you have recognised that something isn't right, you're not feeling yourself and you have started to seek assistance in a way that you feel comfortable with. If there's anything I've learnt in dealing with this over the past few years and reading other people's stories within this community is that there is no right or wrong way in dealing with this. There is no 'correct' first step.