FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

everyday the dinosaur

everyday
Community Member
I had a minor stroke several years ago which affected the right side of my body. I am a self taught artist and lost the ability to pursue my dream of becoming a botanical illustrator. Shortly after I developed a severe form of arthritis. In recent years, I have developed tremors in my neck and left arm. The only way to get relief from tremors is sitting with my head on a pillow. I recently took up card making and have spent a fortune buying supplies that I just stare at all day as I've lost what little motivation I had to pursue it. I used to sew a lot, making artistic quilts, now all I can manage is making childrens dresses to donate to charity. I don't even feel like doing that anymore. I use to cook a lot but now live on prepared frozen meals. I do have a Support Worker twice a week (NDIS has been very helpful) and I try to spend some of the time on outings to local places just to sit and watch the world go by. I don't even want to do that anymore. I took up art journaling as a way to do art therapy (there are no art therapists near me so I have to go it alone). I lost my long term mental health counsellor last year and am having trouble feeling comfortable with his replacement. I HATE talking to GPs (they are more interested in money than health these days). I had my COVID vaccines last year which interfered with my arthritis medication and now I have chronic eye inflammation and repeated joint pain. My arthritis had been under control for several years before COVID. My GP gave me a referral to the RAH Neurological clinic to investigate my neck tremor but they kept giving me two days notice of appointments; I can't drive anymore and need to arrange a Support Worker to drive and to assist me through the mega-hospital. After severa