FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Voluntary admission - Private or Public

TeaRose
Community Member

Hi,

I have recently reached out about the extent of my mental illness to love ones and seeing a psychologist/ psychiatrist regularly and have been told voluntary admission is a path I can go down (if I feel unsafe or at risk). I am new to this so just want to try get an understanding of what other people have experienced with either a public or private voluntary admission. From my understanding, public hospitals are often under resourced and can have people both in psychosis and not on the same ward and potentially escalate the symptoms one might have. Although, I do have private insurance, I will need to discuss with my provider about what cover I have - so cost may play a big role in this. Also the experience itself, did anyone find it helped and in what way?

Thank you

3 Replies 3

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
hello TeaRose, a good comment and one which many people maybe trying to decide on.
Public hospital I disliked as I was put into a ward where some guy kept coming to me saying very unfavourable comments, this happened a few times, but all I wanted to do was get out.
Whereas private is different where I was put into one in suburbs of Melbourne for two weeks, the bottom floor held people struggling with addictions, while the top floor ws for people with any type of depression.
The meals were excellent and routine, group therapy happened everyday just as one on one counseling, but I met a couple of people I connected with, plus I was allowed to go out only if I signed a form and had to be back within a certain time.
One day the group therapy was good as all of us (6 or 7 )were in laughters, you know crying in joy, but when we overcame that it was a downer,so we formed our little group to recover.