FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

my mother

dopamine
Community Member

my mother and i have quite a "rough" relationship. we are immigrants from east asia btw, my parents are divorced and i have a younger sister, my dad lives in china and my mother lives with me in australia. ive been told countless times throughout the years to go back to china and live with my dad, but even if i wanted to, i cant. i am a straight A student in australia, but if i was to go back to china, i would be at the bottom of the class as yall know, the education system in china is more difficult and strict. my mother is also a homophobic ( im bisexual ) and racist towards africans or natives, she also doesnt "bELieVe" in therapy or councelling. my mother also gets involved in many of my sister and i's arguments. she would often make small aggresive comments towards me or belittle me, such as: you lived with her for such a long time, dont you know what kind of person she is? but i have done nothing wrong, she would always side with my sister, and lash out at me for no reason at all. when i have a bad day or week sometimes, and i dont speak much or pick fights, she would tell me that i was ruining the mood or making others unhappy. but when shes in a bad mood, she lashes out at everyone and gets mad over the smallest of things, as well as threatening me for no reason at all. there is so much more to this, years of verbal and sometimes physical abuse just gets built up, i have suicidal episodes sometimes, but i just make myself squeeze my blanket really hard, i also have several other disorders. i have thought about this for some time and the cause of my disorders are probably from my mother.

i dont know what to do, im on holidays for 2 months and i cant take anymore of this. i just want to kill myself.

2 Replies 2

Sophie_M
Hi Dopamine,