FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Can't seem to work normally and now I'm studying

Joe_L
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member
Hey all, I've been working for a while but I've been having panic attacks from stress especially since starting uni. I've always had trouble staying in a job long term, I do qualify for a disability payment because of my diagnoses that I assume is the cause of all the panic attacks I've been having. But I feel like I would just be being lazy and not really worth that sort of support.

Any advice?
5 Replies 5

romantic_thi3f
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Joe L,

Thanks for reaching out and I'm sorry you've been having panic attacks - study is so so stressful, and I'm glad that it's nearing the end of the year given how hard it's been for you.

With the disability payment I presume you mean the DSP? It's probably important to know that 'qualifying' with your diagnosis is a big big difference to being accepted. Mental health is a big struggle with the DSP because you have to prove that your condition has been diagnosed, stabilised and treated. This means that over the last 3 years, it hasn't gotten any better or worse and over the next 3 years, it's not likely to get better or worse even with treatment. Unfortunately that's not the case with panic attacks.

That said however, you may have some extra support backing you- so I will tell you that I don't feel the DSP is lazy as a payment in itself... With the DSP there's no obligation to work or study, and it can sometimes be enough to live for the rest of your life.

I'm not sure if any of this is helpful! But I'll back you whichever way you decide to go.

rt

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Joe L~

It's been a couple of years, so I'll join romantic_thi3f in welcoming you back.