FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Help with transgender teenager

Sadlou
Community Member
Hi everyone, this is my first time on here and I'm desperate for some help.  Our teenage son has recently told us he is transgender.  He has been seeing a psychologist but now she is getting worried about him and wants to send him to a psychiatrist.  We are fine with his decision and will support him all the way our main concern is him not attending school.  He is in year ten and has missed a fair bit of last year and heaps of this year.  He has a doctors certificate in place which will run out soon but we are really concerned as to what we will do when that happens and how to tell his school and the education department.  He is really depressed and apparently too young to take antidepressants.  We worry so much about his future with him missing so much school and are trying our hardest to get him there, we have organised for him to attend on a part time basis but even that isn't working.  Anyone in the same situation and can offer some advice?
9 Replies 9

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

dear Sadlou, thanks for posting your comment, and truly appreciate your acceptance of your son wanting to change his gender.

I am only replying to you because it's the week-end, and because of this the person who can help you won't be back until Monday, as they can provide you with information, which they may have already. 

I didn't want you to think that nobody has seen nor interested in your comment because we are, but unfortunately I have no experience in this area. Geoff.

Chris_B
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Sadlou, welcome to the forums.  

A couple of reference points for you - the first one is the beyondblue resource Families Like Mine.