FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Open the floodgates

Sydsmurf
Community Member

Hi, I am new to this and I am not sure …why…I am even here…I guess I am sad and finding hard to bring my inner happiness back.

so many things have happened in my life…things that I am not ready to write about as I am afraid to open the floodgates…I am afraid that underneath all this, I am broken. Within this statement”I am broken” is a key…and I am holding it very tight.

There is two of me…the happy go lucky person..that special friend that is always happy to listen to you and encourages you to move forward…and the other…Now , I am not sure exactly when this inner split happened but I think it was when my dad past away on my birthday…my birth family is overseas and I was dealing with a serious health issue around the same time that my dad died.

I made choices and decisions …were later in life I had to forgive myself for making those choices or else I would have broken a lot earlier.

my long term relationship went through ups and downs and rocky roads but also very happy and fulfilling moments but this is not about my relationship with my partner …this is about the relationship with myself!

today, I find myself crying about anything ..a sad song…a commercial on TV a fleeting comment made..but this sadness is deep and in no way related to any of the above mentioned stimuli.

the confusion starts ..right after the sadness just disappears and I am back to being (normal) I hate using this word but I am sure you will understand what I mean.

My mom past 4 years ago now as well , of cancer…my parter and I left Australia together to spend some time with my mom before she died.