FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Is it possible that I have depression and should I see a GP about this? (No history or known family history)

guineapigs
Community Member

Hi, Im new to this. I don’t really know where to begin. I think if I speak up about it, people will think I’m faking it for attention because I always act happy, though lately I’ve been finding it more difficult and breaking down at random times, and I am rather young (17, F) and I’ve heard lots of people say teenagers fake depression.I have searched up the symptoms of depression, and even though I know it’s different for everyone, I have been having lots of the symptoms for a while. Today I took the depression/anxiety test, and got high (40) which recommended me to see a GP ASAP. I don’t want to waste the GP’s time in case I’m fine, which I might be since I believe things easily and overreact to things. It could just be the sadness I’m feeling about some things that have been happening lately. I have always been paranoid, nervous and insecure. I have always felt anxious about things such as speaking in front of the class-or even just ordering food, I have always had a habit of kicking/swinging my legs, I’ve always hated my physical appearance, I have always felt like I’m not good enough, always felt worthless, but I’ve only become aware of how bad it’s been recently. I have always been paranoid about the most random things at the most random times, but lately I feel like everything I was afraid would happen is happening. I have been a bit shaky at random times which I haven’t noticed before.I've been having a hard time trying to feel really happy, or even just neutral. I’m always either feeling numb or mental/physical pain. Sometimes I feel like there’s literally a big dark cloud over my mind to prevent me from thinking about things apart from