FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling down at my new job and not getting better

MyThoughts
Community Member

Hello,

I'm new here and this is my first post, and I feel I need to get this off my chest.

I'm a fresh uni graduate and have just started my first full time job in media and I'm now three months in. This isn't a job I wanted but it was the only place that offered me something, and being a desperate graduate, I took what I could get. Although it's not what I wanted, I figured it would be a foot in the door and I can gain some professional experience, and who knows, maybe it might exceed my expectations.

Even though I kept an open mind, this job has been more of a disaster than I thought. Ever since my first day, I have felt like an invader on the team that I work. Although most people are friendly and occasionally chatty with me, I get a very strong vibe that I'm unwelcome. This has been documented numerous times where everyone has gone out in a group to lunch and I didn't receive an invite. Other times I have been invited and I'd say I'll quickly go toilet, and they've all walked off and left me behind and I can't find them. And other times I have gone to sit with them at lunch and the mood very quickly drops and everyone stops talking. Even the other night after work, everyone went out for drinks afterwards and I had no idea. It wasn't until I bumped into them in the lift and another person I didn't know asked me to join, but a few people on my team didn't even acknowledge I was even there.