FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Depression from work

Lisa-27_91
Community Member
  • so I work in the hospitality industry for the last 8 years, I love my job but I keep getting moved to different venues this year, I am on my 4th. This last venue I have been treated really badly, no appreciation, my roster has no work life balance. I have 2 kids 5 and 7 years old, if I have to take time off to look after them I am made to feel guilty and belittled, I have been told that my time off to took after kids is unacceptable. Being at this venue has made me loose my self confidence and I'm slowly sliding into depression.
3 Replies 3

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Lisa-27_91~

Welcome here to the Forum, a good place to meet people that have had similar problems.

It sounds like you are very unlucky with your latest venue. Looking after your kids has to come first in any situation and any boss that does not understand that is not much of a human being.  Being made to feel guilty or unacceptable is a reflection on them not you.

With eight  years in the industry you must have been valued before, and your family needs accommodated. With four moves in the last year has something changed? Have you changed firms for instance?

Rather than taking notice of unfeeling peole can you think more about the job you are doing as a parent? Love and attention makes kids thrive, one could not ask for more.