FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Career break from mental health

Arejay871
Community Member

Hi,

Been living with depression and anxiety for the last 5 years and recently just decided to resign from my work (I am an IT Project manager) as i just couldn't take it anymore. I would describe myself as a people pleaser and found that If i didnt deliver something on time or knew all the answers i was failing. I also felt very burnt out and wasnt able to enjoy things outside of my work. Or even knew what i enjoyed outside of work to be honest.

- im feeling stupid/annoyed/weak not being able to cope and deal with the day to day pressures of work.
- im worried about my career prospects moving forward (even though my bosses were very understanding and supporting - i didnt leave in a very good way - which im ashamed of...
- im finding it hard to not work and also ashamed not to be working
- finding it hard to do whats best for me

8 Replies 8

HamSolo01
Community Member

Hi there Arejay871

I can sense that you are feeling like you may be taking a risk. I know what you mean as I did the same at the start of the year. I lasted about 3 months in my role and realised it was not for me in the long run as it did not stimulate anything in my interests. That point about not wanting to do anything else in life is so true as well. I didn't want to do anything else and didn't want to be anywhere.

I just did my job then went home.

The feeling of not working and being guilty - yes i also understand it. Though lately I have really learned how to tune out from that. The thing to remember is that you are only unemployed if you choose to say you are.