FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Beyond Blue Home Improvement Thread

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi everyone. I'm Geoff and have been a dedicated Volunteer on the forums for 13 years. I am proud to have stopped some of the stigmas that are associated with mental health as well as doing my best to help others too

Before my health went south I was a builder in all aspects of home construction and renovation. If you don't have a handyman around I hope I can offer you some tips that may be of help. I have had many years of experience in home renovation and will do my best to help you out if you are stuck and need some advice

I hope my experience may be of help to the people on Beyond Blue and make their life a little bit better. Even if you need help with the most basic painting job or putting up a shelf I can help there too with some tips

I will do my best to get back to anyone that has a question when I can as this is social yet important thread

Geoff
1,301 Replies 1,301

Hi Music_Freak, yes I was talking with you, the reason I asked about your meter box is that if the box is still wood then the house/unit needs to rewired.

When the new wiring has been done the reading box, (what the Sec man reads to send you the quarterly bill) is metal, then it's been rewired.

The shade cloth will need to be fixed to the fascia board, that's what the gutter is attached to every few inches because if you try and attach it every foot or so and if you have a strong wind it will detach itself.

Another option is to get a piece of wood as long as the shade cloth will be, attach the shade cloth to it on the ground then attach this piece of wood (with help from someone else)onto the fascia board or drill holes in the bricks and tighten with locksin bolts.

Don't worry it may sound to be difficult but it's not really.