FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

work anxiety

EllyJoy
Community Member

I have always struggled with Anxiety and Jobs. I have been working since 2014. In that time I have moved workplaces 6 times. (2 hairdressing jobs and 4 childcare jobs) 
Currently I feel like I am carrying around a big rock in my chest, caused by my feelings towards work. 
I also feel that I have experienced some workplace bullying recently.  I have recently been so uncomfortable at work that I couldn't eat any meals until night-time, and even then not much. It's affected my sleep and my wellbeing.

I have reduced my work hours. 

I work in Early Education and always put on my best front for the children, being kind, friendly and caring. But i feel so burnt out doing this work and being uncomfortable at work because of poor relationship with my boss is making me feel awful. I also feel guilty because I feel I shouldn't be working children if I feel this way.

I volunteered 6 months of this year doing Administration with an aged care charity which was very refreshing. It was a calm and quiet environment, and much easier on my body. 

Every time it comes to making a real change, taking a new industry job or moving on I just get paralysed by fear of change. So I end up getting burnt out, taking a new childcare job, hoping for better. But it never works out. I'm also just afraid that the problem is me and that I'll never find a job where I am happy. 

I have lots of hobbies that I love, so my job doesn't need to be the end all and be all.

What really want to do is just quit. I want to rest in bed for a week. Go back to volunteering, work causally and try out some different industries. 
If have read this, thank you. I feel so lost. 

2 Replies 2

Sophie_M
Hi EllyJoy,