FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New to dealing with extreme anxiety

hacketts
Community Member
Hey,

I'm pretty new to all of this, in a way. I've been dealing with anxiety since I was a kid but have only started to acknowledge it/understand it in the past year. However, after I acknowledged it, it has become much worse, and after the recent separation with my partner, it taken over my entire mind.

I can't go a single day without shaking and feeling extremely vulnerable in my self. I've cut down of my drinking habits and try to do things that will calm myself down, but due to a lack of friends and motivation I feel stuck in my head a lot of the time.

I feel like I'm the only one that could be feeling exactly how I feel and that thought really isolates me. I'm unsure of myself and have lost all my self confidence and enthusiasm.

I'm not like who I used to be, and my confidence has really deteriorated. The anxiety makes me feel sick and helpless, and just so alone.

I'm worried it will stay like this forever, and in the height of it I struggle to rationalize. Coping mechanisms are not my strong suit.
2 Replies 2

Sophie_M

Hey hacketts,

Welcome to the forums, we are so glad that you've taken a big step in sharing your thoughts and feelings here with our wonderful community. We can hear how lonely and overwhelmed that you're feeling, but please know that you've come to a safe, non-judgemental space and our community is here to support you through this difficult time.