FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Music Performance Anxiety

MalcolmJD
Community Member

Hello,

I realize my problem is very minor compared to some, however, I am bothered by it. I have been a musician for many years playing the bass guitar. I have recently begun studying classical guitar formally, which means exams. I have sat two so far, and both times have been anxious to the point where it affects my performance. I know I can do much better and I know there is no logical reason for the anxiety (nervous yes, that can be channelled into positive energy, anxious no, that leads to tension).

I have thought of trying to get beta-blockers, but that is a chemical solution (there were enough drugs in my band days!). I wonder if meditation might help, or cognitive behaviour therapy.

I am interested to know if anyone else has experienced this problem, and their remedies.

Regards,

Malcolm

2 Replies 2

dougall
Community Member
Hi welcome, I don't know if this will help when I am wanting to calm down from my anxiety I try and think of a calm place or word and keep repeating it.  Meditation is a great place to start, takes practice and you know all about practice.  Good luck and I hope someone who is musical can help you.

AGrace
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Malcolm,

Welcome to the forums. I can't say i can play a musical instrument, although,  i wish i could. I was however a trainer, and experienced debilitating performance anxiety almost every day for 5 years, so i understand where you are coming from.