FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

chasing my tail

MissyA
Community Member
Hi I am a newbie. I have been suffering from headaches and nausea on and off for 3 months. The headaches  and nausea has caused me extreme anxiety to the point of not being able to function and look after my family. I have been seeing a physiologist and have just recently been put on medication. I just dont know where I am at and in such a rut.I feel so guilty not being the mum I should be. 
4 Replies 4

Zeal
Community Member

Hi Missy,

Welcome to the forum.

You don't deserve to feel guilty for being hindered by physical pain. It sounds as though you are doing your best to get better, as you have already sought professional help and have reached out on this forum.

I used to get nausea and headaches due to neck and muscle tension. At the time I didn't realise this. As the muscles in your neck are connected to those in your head; tightness, "knotting" or stiffness here can cause pretty painful headaches. Sometimes the headache will feel like a large cluster of pain over a big surface area, and sometimes there's a specific point of tension/pain.

Your headaches and nausea may not be the result of neck pain/tension. Your physio has obviously already diagnosed you, which is great. Hopefully the medication can help with the pain. You could try having a therapeutic massage. The one I have once every few months is $80 per hour, which isn't cheap, but it is definitely worth it. Also, you will probably get some money back through Bupa or another healthcare provider.