FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

anticipatory anxiety

Slippers
Community Member

Hi everyone, I hope you are well.

In the past four months the RBA has increased the interest rate 4 times. While I am working I am starting to struggle making ends meet. I am stressed about what happens if or when I cannot afford my mortgage, eat and save some money. The indications are that the Reserve Bank with put up interest rates again next month, I am not looking for to a possible increase and a letter that my mortgage has gone up again. I am new to mortgages, I don’t know what my potential options are.

I am thankful that I am able to sleep okay at night, I find weekends hard as I have free time to ruminate possible scenarios, I try and get as much sleep on the weekends simply because I am tired and two I can forget my troubles for a few hours.

I have family, but it seems every time we speak I have to initiate the conversation, and I am getting sick of it. They demand I call them.

Any advice or guide you can share would be good. I am okay for the moment but I look at the future and worry, they call it anticipatory anxiety

5 Replies 5

Ggrand
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello Dear Slippers, 

I don’t much much about mortgages…But wanted to pop in to move your very valued post up towards the front page….

Both my sons have mortgages and as you are really struggling to make ends meet….I did suggest to them that they make an appointment with the financial manager of there bank and have a talk to them to see if their are any options available to make things easier for them…,.Both of my sons agreed that it would be a good idea to do that….They haven’t been back to me to let me know if they were helped…